Skip to main content

UU ENG 106 -- Sp 2017 Prof. Garrison: Resources About Movies and Themes

Finding Journal Articles

Film and Television Literature Index  provides links to journal articles about all aspects of film and television production, including movie reviews.
 
Humanities International Complete identifies articles from all areas of the humanities, which can include film and movie criticism.
 
Academic Search Complete is a great all-purpose research database.  Use it to find journal and magazine articles on a wide variety of topics.
 
For more specific discipline-specific research, we have subject specific databases.  Check the A to Z list of databases to see if there is one specifically for your subject.  For example, if you are writing about how schools or teachers are depicted in film, you might use the Education Research Database or if you are considering how business is described, you might find helpful resources in the Business Source Complete.

Finding E-Journals by Title

Use Urbana's E-Journal Finder to see if we have full text access to the journals you hope to research.

From off-campus, you will need to login to the E-Journal Finder, using the barcode on the back of your student ID.

If the journal you hope to find is included in our collection, click on the title

Click the name of the database (or one of the databases) that indexes the journal you have selected.

Click on the year of the journal you need.

Click on the issue of the journal you need.

Scroll to find the article you need.  Or if there are too many for quick scrolling, add one of the words from the title of your article to the search box.

Ordering Books Using OhioLINK

How to Order Books from OhioLINK

Find the item you want on OhioLINK

Click on 

Select Urbana University

Click 

Type in your name and 14 digit barcode number (back of your ID card)

Items arrive at the Ubana University Library within 3-5 days

Phone call and Facebook message sent to notify you when it arrives

Return books to the Urbana University Library when you are done with them

Electronic Books

Electronic books can be read from your device or computer.  Some chapters can be downloaded as pdfs.  Some sections can be printed.  The publishers of the books decide what and how much information from each book can be used through our e-book services.

To search for e-books on any topic try:

EBSCO E-book collection

Electronic Book Collection from OhioLINK

Sample titles include:

Modern American drama on screen

American drama in the age of film

Classic Hollywood: Lifestyles and Film Styles of American Cinema, 1930-1960

Streaming Videos

Use the Kanopy Database to find videos on your subject.  Your film may be available through this service.  There may be videos about aspects of your topic, the producer or production.

Movie Reviews