Skip to main content

UU Exercise Physiology: Articles, Books and Videos

Finding Journal Articles

SEARCH TIP: You can search individual sports (baseball, football, dance, etc.) in any of these databases.  Also consider the level of athlete -- high school, college, club, elite, amateur, professional, etc.
 
Sports & sports medicine journals with full text for 550 journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985.

Journal articles from a medical perspective.
  
Journal articles covering exercise science, athletic training, and physical rehabilitation.
  
Journal articles covering health and wellness.
 
Academic Search Complete is a great all-purpose research database.
**For access to these databases from off-campus, you will need to log in and authenticate using your Urbana University Library barcode (found on the back of your student ID card)**
 

Specific Journals

Follow the links below to be taken to journals of interest to students in exercise physiology.

Advances in Exercise and Sports Physiology  2006- present

Archives of Exercise in Health and Disease 2011 - present

Biology of Exercise 2007 - present

International Journal of Exercise Science 2008 - present

International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism 2000 - present

Isokinetics and Exercise Physiology 1998 - 12 month delay

Journal of Human Sport and Exercise 2006 - present

Journal of Professional Exercise Physiology  2003 - present

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport 2013 -  present

Finding Electronic Books

Electronic books can be read from your device or computer.  Some chapters can be downloaded as pdfs.  Some sections can be printed.  The publishers of the books decide what and how much information from each book can be used through our e-book services.

To search for e-books on any topic try:

EBSCO E-book collection

Electronic Book Collection from OhioLINK 

Streaming Videos

Use the Kanopy Database to find videos about exercise physiology, health and similar topics.

.  For example, Feeding Frenzy: The Food Industry, Obesity and the Creation of a Health Crisis.

Chat Ref 2.0

Please use the chat window in the bottom right of your screen for assistance.